Shankha Ghosh Bengali poet Selected for Jnanpith Award 2016

Shankha Ghosh Bengali poet Selected for Jnanpith Award 2016

Bengali poet Shankha Ghosh was selected for the Jnanpith Award for the year 2016.
It is the 52nd Jnanpith Awared announced.
Shankha Ghosh is 6th writer in Bengali to win this award. The previous Bengali writers are Tarasankar Bandyopadhyay (1966), Bishnu Dey (1971), Ashapoorna Devi (1976), Subhash Mukhopadhyay (1991) and Mahasweta Devi (1966).

Shankha Ghosh Brief Info :Shankha Ghosh Bengali poet

He was born on 6 February 1932 in Chandpur now in Bangladesh.
His poems are often laden with messages, but are free from polemics.
Some of his noteworthy poems are ‘Adim lata-gulmomay’, ‘Kabir abhipray’, ‘Murkha baro, samajik nay’, ‘Mukh dheke jay bigyapane’, ‘Babarer prarthana’, Dinguli Raatguli and ‘Nihita Patalchaya’ His works have also been translated widely into several Indian languages including Hindi, Marathi, Punjabi, Assamese and Malayalam, as well as into some foreign languages.
Shankha Ghosh also been respected with Saraswati Samman, Sahitya Akademi Award, Narsingh Das Puraskar and Rabindra Puraskar among others.

Jnanpith Award History:

India’s highest literary honour is Jnanpith Award.
From the Sanskrit words Jnana and Pitha this name has been taken. the meaning of those words is Knowledge Seat.

The award was established in the year 1961 by Bharatiya Jnanpith trust. This trust was established by Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain family that owns the Times of India newspaper group.
Any Indian can recieve this award who writes in Indian Official languages (22 official languages) mentioned in Indian constitution under VIII schedule.
Before 1982 , Jnanpith Award was given for a writer for any of his writing. After 1982 candidates are being selected by the trust who made their contribution to the literature of India.
The award includes 11 lakh rupees cash prize, a citation plaque and a bronze replica of Saraswati, the Hindu goddess of knowledge and wisdom.
Ashapoorna Devi, Bengali novelist was the first woman to recieve this award in 1976.
She was selected for her 1965 novel Pratham Pratisruti (The First Promise), the first in a trilogy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *